Link share

T20 World Cup ‘Champions 2022’

Reading time: 2 minutes

Excitement is gradually building for the upcoming ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2022, to be held in October-November this year.

Tickets went on sale two months ago, and for the South Asian community at least, matches of interest have seen a resumption that would have reasonably satisfied local organizers.

This week, organizers announced their “2022 Champions” who will help support a global celebration of Australia’s cultural diversity before and during the event.

The goal of the Champions program is to bring communities together around a common passion for the game of cricket.

Each champion will connect people through cricket and culture to instill a sense of belonging and inclusion.

Indian Link CEO Pawan Luthra joins 37 other industry leaders as champions, drawn from over 15 different cultural and professional backgrounds.

Pawan observed: “The collective passion and fun offered by cricket inspires us as much as it unites us. Global sporting events go even further by bringing nations and cultures together.

READ ALSO: Jhulan Goswami breaks world record at Women’s World Cup

Photo by Daniel Pockett/Getty Images for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Pawan is joined in this exercise by others like lawyer Molina Asthana, cricket writer Bharat Sundaresan and entrepreneurs Sheba Nandkeolyar, Dipen Rughani, Gurnam Singh, Preeti Daga, Anupam Sharma and Sonia Sadiq Gandhi; cricketers Lisa Shalekar, Usman Khawaja, Fawad Ahmed, Jason Gillespie and Mel Jones; media personalities Karina Carvalho, Gus Worland and Adam Liaw, and MasterChef stars Diana Chan and Kishwar Chowdhury, among others.

For everyone, it will be an opportunity to advocate for inclusion and diversity across the cricket platform and a home T20 World Cup.

Local Organizing Committee CEO Michelle Enright said, “On behalf of the ICC and the entire LOC, we are extremely grateful to each champion who has joined our team to embrace and celebrate the cultural diversity of Australia through the shared love of cricket”.

Of the 36 champions, 18 return to the program after playing a similar role in the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.
“Having seen the positive impact this has had on women’s and women’s sport in this country, I am excited to see what we can accomplish this year as people begin to reconnect with their communities and look forward to new experiences together,” observed Enright.

Besides these influencers, organizers are also reaching out to multicultural Australia by creating Facebook communities. If you as Indian readers are not yet part of the SQUAD India Facebook group, you might want to register.

The ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2022 will be held from October 16 to November 13, 2022. Matches will be played in Adelaide (Adelaide Oval), Brisbane (The Gabba), Geelong (Kardinia Park), Hobart (Bellerive Oval), Melbourne (MCG ), Perth (Perth Stadium) and Sydney (SCG).

16 international teams will play 45 matches. The final will take place on Sunday November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The 2022 ICC T20 Men’s World Cup will feature 16 international teams playing 45 matches with the final to be played on Sunday November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

READ ALSO: Remembering Shane Warne, Our First Royal